Department of Geosciences Faculty

 

  The Department of Geosciences at Florida Atlantic University is housed on the Boca Raton campus and offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in various subfields of the geosciences. The three main areas of focus in the department are earth systems science, human-environmental systems, and geo-information science. line Phone: 561-297-3250



        
  Dr. Anton Oleinik  

Dr. Anton Oleinik

   
Associate Professor
Office: SE 464

E-mail: aoleinik@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geology (Purdue University) 1998
MS in Geology (Moscow State University) 1986
BS in Paleontology 1985
(Read More)

  Dr. Caiyun Zhang  

Dr. Caiyun Zhang

   
Associate Professor
Office: SE 488

E-mail:  czhang3@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geospatial Information Sciences (University of Texas at Dallas) 2010
Ph.D. in Ocean Remote Sensing (Ocean University of China) 2007
MS in Marine Geology (Ocean University of China) 2003
BS in Marine Geology (Ocean University of China) 1998
(Read More)

  Dr. Colin Polsky  

Dr. Colin Polsky

   
Instructor
Office: DW 312

E-mail: cpolsky@fau.edu

 

 

About:
Professor Polsky is a geographer specializing in the Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change. He has completed four degrees with majors in four disciplines, plus a two-year postdoctoral training in a fifth field.
(Read More)

 

 

  Dr. David Warbuton  

Dr.  David Warbuton

   
Assistant Chair & Asso. Professor
Office: SE 466

E-mail: warburton@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. Geophysical Sciences (University of Chicago) 1978 
B.A. Chemistry (University of California, San Diego) 1969
(Read More)

  Dr. Erik Johanson  

Dr. Erik Johanson

   
Assisstant Professor
Office: SE 474

E-mail:  ejohanson@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Dr. Johanson studies human-environment interaction and environmental change across the Holocene. His interests center around how people shape their environments and respond to climate stress.
(Read More)

  James Gammack-Clark  

James Gammack-Clark

   
Instructor
Office: SE 488

E-mail: jgammack@fau.edu

 

 

About:
MA in Geography (Florida Atlantic University) 2001
BA in Geography (Florida Atlantic University) 2000
(Read More)

 

 

  Dr. Maria Fadiman  

Dr. Maria Fadiman

   
Associate Professor
Office: SE 454

E-mail: mfadiman@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geography (University of Texas at Austin) 2003
MA in Latin American Studies (Tulane University) 1998
BA in Latin American Studies (Vassar College) 1991
(Read More)

 
  Dr. Russ Ivy  

Dr. Russell Ivy

   
Senior Associate Provost
Office: ADM-10

E-mail: ivy@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Russell Ivy serves as the Senior Associate Provost for Academic Affairs. In this capacity, he is responsible for providing leadership in formulating and administering university policies for student learning outcomes assessment, in Geography (State University of New York at Buffalo)
(Read More)

  Dr. Scott Markwith  

Dr. Scott Markwith

   
Associate Professor
Office: SE 450

E-mail:  smarkwit@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geography, specialization Biogeography (University of Georgia, Athens) 2007
MS in Geography, specialization Biogeography (University of Georgia, Athens) 2001
BA in Geography, concentration Physical Geography (University of Mary Washington) 1997
(Read More)

  Dr. Tara Root  

Dr. Tara Root

   
Associate Professor
Office: SE 452, DW 329

E-mail: troot@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geology and Geophysics (University of Wisconsin-Madison) 2005
MS in Geology and Geophysics (University of Wisconsin-Madison) 2000
BS in Geological Engineering (Colorado School of Mines) 1998
(Read More)

  Dr. Tiffany Roberts Briggs  

Dr. Tiffany Roberts Briggs

   
Assistant Professor
Office: SE 470

E-mail:  briggst@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geology (University of South Florida) 2012
M.S. in Geology (University of South Florida) 2008
B.S. in Environmental Science (Honors College, University of South Florida) 2006
(Read More)

  Dr. Tobin Hindle  

Dr. Tobin Hindle

   
Associate Scientist
Office: SE 462

E-mail: thindle@fau.edu
 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Comparative Studies (Florida Atlantic University) 2006 
Graduate Certificate in Environmental Studies (Florida Atlantic University) 2006
MS in Biology (Florida Atlantic University) 1997
BS in Limnology (University of Central Florida) 1986
(Read More)

  Dr. Weibo Liu  

Dr. Weibo Liu

   
Assistant Professor
Office: SE 410

E-mail:  liuw@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geography (University of Kansas) 2016
MS in Geographic Information Science (China University of Petroleum) 2011
BS in Geographic Information Science (China University of Petroleum) 2008
(Read More)

  Dr. Xavier Comas  

Dr. Xavier Comas

   
Associate Professor
Office: SE 460, DW 330

E-mail:  xcomas@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. Rutgers University,2005
B.Sc. Universitat de Barcelona (Spain), 2000
(Read More)

  Dr. Zhixiao Xie  

Dr. Zhixiao Xie

   
Chair & Professor
Office: SE 456A

E-mail: xie@fau.edu

 

 

 

About:
Ph.D. in Geography (State University of New York at Buffalo)
MS in Computer Science and Engineering (State University of New York at Buffalo)
MS in Ecology (Chinese Academy of Sciences )
BS in Geography (Peking University)
(Read More)

 

 

Affiliate Research Faculty

First Name Last Name Email First Name Last Name Email
Dr. Ann-Margaret Esnard aesnard@fau.edu Dr. Chandra S. Pathak cpathak@fau.edu
Dr. Christopher Kelble ckelble@fau.edu Dr. David Palandro dpalandr@fau.edu
Dr. Allan Popak apopak@fau.edu Dr. David Sumner sumnerd@fau.edu
Dr. Eric Swain swaine@fau.edu Dr. Felicia Rein frein@fau.edu
Dr. Gillian K Bloise gbreary@fau.edu Dr. Graham Tobin gtobin@fau.edu
Dr. Huseyin Baki Iz hiz@fau.edu Dr. Jayantha Obeysekera jobeysek@fau.edu
Dr. Josiah Strauss jstraus2@fau.edu Dr. Julio de Souza desouzaj@fau.edu
Goldenberg Joelle jgoldenberg2015@fau.edu Liu Jing jliu2016@fau.edu
Dr. Kenneth Banks kbanks2@fau.edu Dr. Kevin Cunningham kcunni23@fau.edu
Dr. Marc Minno gesch@usgs.gov Dr. Michael Duever mduever@fau.edu
Dr. Rebecca Jo Walter rwalte11@fau.edu Dr. Richard Appeldoorn rappeldo@fau.edu
Dr. Robert Brinkman rbrinkma@fau.edu Dr. Sanford Porter porters@fau.edu
Dr. Sharon Ewe sewe@fau.edu Dr. Zhikang Chen zchen6@fau.edu

 

 

Emeritus Professors

First Name Last Name Email First Name Last Name Email
Dr. Leonard Berry berry@fau.edu Dr. Charles Finkl cfinkl@fau.edu
Dr. Howard Hanson hphanson@fau.edu Dr. David Lee dlee@fau.edu
Dr. Edward Petuch epetuch@fau.edu Dr. Ronald Schultz schultzr@fau.edu
Dr. Tata Robert